Dan Vapid and The Cheats Release New Album, ‘Escape Velocity’ – OUT TODAY



“The combination of visual and emotional lyrics with a wide array of instrumentation makes this one of the year’s most enjoyable albums.” – Punknews.org

“They continue to build upon the groundwork that was laid on their previous album, this time taking it a step further with their willingness to explore new stylistic territory. At the same time, they’re able to do so while still preserving the core sound that fans have come to appreciate. Additionally, singer/guitarist Dan Vapid’s songwriting proficiencies remain in top form, while the other band members, (guitarist/singer Simon Lamb, bassist/singer Dillon Dunnagan, and drummer/singer Gabe Usery) provide significant contributions throughout, which really helps to solidify ‘Escape Velocity’ as a complete record.” – Jaded In Chicago

“A warm and richly fulfilling record.” – Jersey Beat “This is an album that will have the listener impulsively electing to hit repeat over and over again. They have given us one of the best pop-punk releases heard so far this year.” – Punktuation Magazine
Artwork by Justin Santora

1. Come Find Me
2. Burning Questions
3. Middle America
4. Cyber World
5. The Talk
6. Guilt and Relief
7. Runaway Jane
8. Robots
9. Teenage Wallflower
10. Tears are Falling
11. Bitter and Sour
12. Maybe Tomorrow
13. Midnight Blue

(FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 5 2021) — Today Dan Vapid and the Cheats release their fourth full-length album Escape Velocity via Eccentric Pop Records. Featuring thirteen new tracks the album plays almost like a concept album, exploring themes of loss, sorrow, and redemption. It’s a personal, insightful record, musically rooted in Vapid’s classic punk rock style while also exploring and incorporating his wide-ranging musical influences.

The album is currently available as a CD-only title, as vinyl manufacturing delays are frequently running longer. Vinyl is expected to be released sometime in the spring of 2022 with cassette release available in spring via Memorable But Not Honorable Tapes.

Dan Vapid And The Cheats is a punk rock band featuring singer, songwriter, and guitarist Dan Vapid. A veteran of the punk scene who has played in influential bands such as Screeching Weasel, The Riverdales, Sludgeworth, The Methadones, Noise By Numbers, The Mopes, and The Queers. The current lineup features Dan Vapid (Vocals/Guitar), Simon Lamb (guitars/vocals), Dillon Dunnagan (bass/vocals), and Gabe Usery (drums/vocals).

In 2013, they released their self-titled debut (recorded by Justin Perkins), a sophomore LP titled Two, produced by Matt Allison (Alkaline Trio, The Lawrence Arms), a split 7″ with Masked Intruder, a split 7″ with The Jetty Boys, and made an appearance on Our Lips Are Sealed – A Tribute to The Go-Go’s. Three, the band’s third full-length and first in six years, was released in 2019 via Eccentric Pop Records. Escape Velocity was engineered, mixed, and mastered by Gabe Usery at Encapsulated Studios in St. Louis, MO., and produced by Dan Vapid and Gabe Usery.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.