Can Toker – Six Sick Sixty Second Songs


© 2010 Can Toker
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Assuming that they made it through the recent tidal waves, Can Toker is a low-fi punk rock quintent from outta Santa Cruz, CA. The band consists of: Jack Mehauf (raging vocals), Chappy Left Standing (blazing guitar), Bon Gripper (thunderous bass) and JT Murdoc (earth shaking drums).

Six Sick Sixty Second Songs is the new demo out by the band and in all fairness, the songs, all six of them are sick, however not a single one of them is, in fact, sixty seconds long. This, to me, seems like a glaring oversight. I’m willing to let this slide because I like the raw garage punk thats barreling into my eardrums right now.

In truth, you get six tracks that clock (mostly) in around the minute mark. Snarly vocals, snarly guitar, snarly bass, drums (not snarly) The tracks are mostly about day-to-day goings on. Life in a tiny town. Smoking out a improvised can pipe. You know, living the American dream.

You can find more about ’em on the wide wide world of webs:

-Jerry Actually

For fans of: The Meatmen, Awesome and the Asskickers, smoking things from cans.

1. Just My Job
2. Wheelbite
3. Decay
4. Implant
5. Fishbowl Town
6. Can Toker

Bust – Suck Kuts


Rating: ★★★☆☆
© 2010 Cassette Deck Media

As per the !upstarter m.o., this review is rolling in a little on the late side. I’ll go ahead and blame the holidays. At any rate, here is some manner of review.

Behold Suck Kuts (No seriously behold that cover; chick-son-of-bitchin-magnet says I.) the new release from the dynamic duo of Kyle Stembaugh and Jon Olson, heretofore known as Bust. Suck Kuts flings forth with 10 (suck) cuts of punk bombast at the fever pitch that only garages and their related ilk can generally thrust forth.

The diddys are short and sweet and laden with the disenchantment of boredom and life of better laid plans. As I alluded to above, the sound is classic “garage” punk rock, raw and gritty. You know the sound I’m talking about. A band on a mission. A band without 80 brazillion dollars in studio gear and engineering. Don’t get me wrong, I like the occasional ultra-polish, but I believe a band is best heard in the raw and Suck Kuts is done the way I prefer.

For the vinyl aficionados out there, Suck Kuts is carved onto white vinyl and includes a mp3 download code for the kiddies. The liner assures me that Bust would like to thank “Cool Bands, Cool Dudes, and Cool Zunes”, so all you Microsoft mp3 players out there that fit some of that bill, cheers. Oh, and rumor has it that if you purchase the vinyl, “You also have a 1 in 500th chance in finding Matt Skiba’s cell phone number scribbled inside.”

Bottom line: 10 tracks of duo-istic punk rock served old school on white vinyl

1. The Whinery (Merlot Blow)
2. Who Wants to Fuck Bill Rogers?
3. Pear At Heart
4. High on Life, Drunk off Mouthwash
5. Push Ups
6. That Don’t Impressuh Me Much
7. Talk Nerdy To Me
8. First Bench
9. Unsmooth Moments
10. Sascrotch

For more info: