Verthebral – Regeneration

When I think of blistering Death Metal, naturally my thoughts turn, geographically, to the sleepy plains of South America. Of course I’m talking about Paraguay. It’s what is basically the Kansas of South America. Were else do you expect to find brutal, crushing, tormenting metal? As I’m sure you already know, I’m referring to Verthebral and their forthcoming release “Regeneration” on Satananth Records. 10 tracks of musical onslaught so intense that it’ll make your forgot about every other death metal band from Paraguay you’ve ever heard.

I’ve mentioned it in the past, but I think it bears repeating. Modern technology and the rapid sharing of information, when put to good use can be a powerful force for change. It can bring the underground to the surface and bring an audience to artists that may have previously gone unheard. Twenty years ago, I can nearly guarantee I never would have heard of music coming out of Paraguay. I’m very thankful that I have.

Seriously though, Regeneration is a powerful, driving album with all the metal bits in all the right places. It soars, it seethes, it chugs, and it growls just when you need it too. The riffs are breakneck, and the solos cut through your bones with the metal sound of the late 80s.

This is where the death/doom/dark metal world needs to be. Modern tunes that pay respect to the roots.

Fantastic stuff. Check it out.

Here’s a video to get you going:

Line up:
Cristhian Rojas – Bass, Vocals
Gabriel Galeano – Drums
Daniel Larroza – Guitars
Alberto Flores – Guitars

Track list:
1. Apocalyptic Seasons (Intro)
2. Place Of Death
3. Spirit In Solitude
4. Regeneration
5. Beyond The Garden Of Creation
6. Without Any God
7. Old Man’s Memories
8. The Plague Of Insomnia
9. Immaterial Essence Of Things
10. Inside Of Me

Skeleton Crew – Say It With Murder


© 2012 Sailor’s Grave Records


skeleton_crew_murderSome fresh new psychobilly just in time for the new year. Dublin Ireland’s Skeleton Crew has a brand new blast of sneering growling rock and roll for your delicate little ear drums. Say It With Murder rips out of the gates with a pace and ferocity that often times feels more hardcore than psycho, but the thumping double bass doesn’t let you forget for a second what the score is.

This act is a new one for me, and from what I gather a relative newcomer over all. Their new release busts out 14 tracks or hardcore ghoulish fun that will damn well impress any fans of the genre and will hopefully attract some hardcore and metal converts too. Even though this is my first taste to Skeleton Crew, the band leaves a hella good impression. I look forward to rocking the hell out of this in the future. If you don’t trust me, just let the track titles be your guide.

Here’s a video for a taste: Dead After Dawn
[youtube 1oCIzFcw1wQ]

01 Bob For Knives
02 Humble
03 Don’t Need Anybody
04 Gozira
05 City Of Woe
06 Dead After Dawn
07 Malnutrition
08 Human Brain
09 Dead My Sweetheart
10 Psycho Gikna
11 Skeleton Crew
12 State Of William
13 Rat Boy
14 Lycanthrophy

For Fans Of: Mad Sin, Demented Are Go, Misfits, Klingonz

–Jerry Actually