Civet Love & War Due Out Feb 22

January 12, 2011 – Los Angeles, CA – LA rock band Civet have announced plans to release their fourth studio album, Love & War, via Hellcat Records on February 22. Fans can check out the album’s first single, “L.A. Nights,” now at The album will also be available on vinyl at a later date.

Led by provocative sisters Liza Graves and Suzi Carmichael, Civet hold the torch once held by such groundbreaking female-fronted bands as The Runaways, Bikini Kill, L7, Hole and The Distillers, with the release of their fearless new studio album Love & War.

“Recording the new record was very liberating; we knew what we wanted and went for it!” says Graves. “Our choruses are bigger and badder than the last record, coupled with blazing guitar solos & raw vocals everyone has come to love; that combination of Motörhead grit and ‘77 raw power. There are various influences that can be heard on all the songs, so the whole record doesn’t reflect one particular era or genre. We weren’t afraid to pull from all scopes of the musical spectrum when writing this record.”

After their Hellcat debut, Hell Hath No Fury, in 2008, Civet took the world by storm, touring Europe, Japan and North America extensively with such greats as Flogging Molly, H20, The Adicts, Dropkick Murphys, The Pogues and the Vans Warped Tour. The album received rave reviews from critics and fans and created a whirlwind of press for the band, and anticipation for their follow-up has been mounting ever since.

Civet spent the last several years on the road refining the band’s direction, and when it came time to record their follow up to Hell Hath No Fury decided to forgo an outside producer and record the album themselves. “We knew the vision we had for this record better than anybody, so we decided to go for it!” says Carmichael.
And the result is Love and War, 14 daring and unapologetic tracks about relationships gone wrong, shattered dreams and their journey to where they are today. With a matured sense of reality, the girls dug deeper than ever have before and translated their experiences over the past few years into soul wrenching lyrics and choruses on the new album. “On this record, Suzi and I not only found our voice, but we rediscovered our punk rock ‘n’ roll roots,” says Graves.

Armed with Graves’ trademark deep raspy vocals and Carmichael’s incendiary lead guitars, Civet bare their teeth on songs like the brash party anthem, “L.A. Nights” and the angst fueled “Summer of Hate,” and sink their claws into fans with feverous deploy on one of the band’s best written albums yet.

Love & War Track Listing:
01. Can’t Go Back – 3:13
02. L.A. Nights – 2:55
03. Love & War – 2:56
04. Come On (I Wanna Be Your Girl) – 2:46
05. Sunset Strip – 3:32
06. Summer Of Hate – 3:45
07. Deadbeat – 2:08
08. Buy My Love – 2:52
09. Cryin’ Wolf – 3:22
10. It’s The Truth – 4:51
11. I’m Not The One – 3:24
12. Go Underground – 2:05
13. Reap What You Sow – 5:00
14. You Get What You Pay For – 3:27

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.